Betty Crocker with a twist

Did you know that this week is national slow down week? I didn’t. Found out about it yesterday on Keri Smith’s blog. And boy do I need to slow down. My usually meticulous memory has been failing me. I’m losing things. I never lose things. Making myself crazy. I decided it must be because I’m moving too fast, doing too many things at once. I prefer that reason to the many possible medical things that could go wrong with my brain. So anyway …

I slowed down today by starting early. Stay with me … it will all start to make sense.

Our mornings here are usually a mad dash. We sleep a bit too long, rush around getting dressed, making lunches, finding the library books and barely screech in to the school parking lot before the bell rings. It’s no wonder that by the time I sit down at my desk around 9 a.m., I already feel like I’ve logged in an entire day.

So today … I got up 30 minutes early. Made the coffee. And then made my favorite applesauce muffins. It’s an old recipe — my mom used to make these for us — but I recently rediscovered it on Alicia’s blog. My six-year-old isn’t quite as enamored of these treats as I am. Claims they’re a bit dry. So I decided to tinker. I added a layer of jam between the muffin batter. Baked the same amount of time. And wow. Just try to eat one! (see recipe after photo)

We sat in the morning sun with muffins and melon, all cozy in a kitchen filled with the smell of cinnamon, jam and apples. Now that’s the way to start a morning. I’m all for this slow down week. I think I’ll make mine a month!

muffins

Make yourself a batch …

Betty Crocker Applesauce Muffins with a Sparkly Twist
preheat oven to 400 degrees

2 cups Bisquick
1/4 sugar
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 cup applesauce
1 slightly beaten egg
2 tbls vegetable oil
jam of your choice

Topping: melted butter & cinnamon sugar

Line a muffin tin with cupcake liners (easy clean-up!). In a medium-sized bowl, beat egg slightly. Add rest of ingredients and mix well. Put one spoon of batter (to about the half-way mark on the liner) in each cupcake liner. Add a small spoonful of jam. Top each muffin with a bit more batter — just divide what you have left. Back 10-12 minutes. Let cool slightly. Brush with melted butter and top with cinnamon sugar (if you like).

By the way, the original recipe says it makes 12 muffins. I only get 8. I’d say to plan for 8 if you’re adding the jam. Enjoy!

3 Responses to “Betty Crocker with a twist”

  1. Sage Says:

    Hooray for slow down month!! If only I lived next door, so we could slow down (and eat many muffins) together!!

  2. thewritermama Says:

    I also have an amazing applesauce muffins recipe. Only mine has nuts.

    And speaking of losing things, I spent a half hour looking for my daughter’s Bitty Bear today. Because I HATE to not be able to find things. Even if I am not the one to lose them.

    It’s like a pride thing.

    I finally found the (darn) BB in the dress-up clothes bin. Samantha cried until she fell into a nap anyway…because she then couldn’t find a wee plastic horse.

    I drew the line at the plastic horse. And let her fall asleep on me instead.

    That’s my daily life. Write on PKSnappy! Write on!

  3. Mari Says:

    Pamela, I can’t wait to try this recipe! Since I am a baking novice, would you be able to recommend a more “wholesome” substitute for Bisquick (i.e. unbleached flour, baking soda, and other ingredients and their correspondng proportions for this recipe)? I’m reluctant to use Bisquick because it contains trans fat and bleached flour. Sorry to sound like such a health Nazi. I’m usually not, but trans fat genuinely scares me.

    If you can’t, I might just say the hell with it and use Bisquick anyway, trans fat and all! I’m sure my taste buds won’t know the difference. 🙂

    Thanks much. And have fun with Sage in NYC.

Leave a Reply

