Official diagnosis — bronchitis

I gave in and went to the doctor’s this afternoon. I’m officially sick with bronchitis. Just not sick enough to need medication. Turns out, one needs a secondary bacterial infection … say when the bronchitis gets so bad it morphs into pnuemonia … before antibiotics are prescribed. And really, that’s fine with me. I believe the over-prescription and use of antibiotics has only furthered the development of super bugs and we just don’t need any more of that.

What is so not fine with me is the implication that I really wasn’t sick enough to trouble the poor medical staff in the first place. The nurse was quite skeptical as she listened to my lungs. “All clear. I think you’re doing fine,” she said. “Must have coughed it all up already,” I replied. The doctor said he could “offer me” a breathing treatment. I qualified for that because the air in my lungs measured only 98%. It should be 100% unless you smoke, which I don’t. Where the other 2% went, we don’t know. How breathing in and out of a tube hooked to an incredibly noisy machine would do more than give me a nasty headache was not explained. So I took the treatment, said thank you and dashed out the door. I swear, I heard them laughing at me.

And then I bought cake. Little, cute Valentine’s cakes. I won’t be up to eating them but I had to buy them. Next week, I’m going to have a do-over. It’s going to be my birthday and Valentine’s Day again. Just so I can eat cake!

dessert.jpg

2 Responses to “Official diagnosis — bronchitis”

  1. Sage Says:

    Those doctors need a spanking! And those pastries are soooooo cute! Wish I could help you eat ’em!

  2. The Writer Mama Says:

    I’ve been out of the loop and had no idea how sick you were!

    Hope you are feeling better.

    Been caught up in my own life challenges, but I’m back!

    To health! Yours, mine and both of our childrens’!

Leave a Reply

