Empty spaces

Sage tagged me to share 5 things about myself that most don’t know. I’ve only thought of 3 so far. Not that I don’t have dozens of eccentricities not often talked about in polite circles but because I have so many — and they all seem so normal to me — that it’s hard to narrow the list to 5.

Instead I find myself, in the waning hours of February 2007, pondering empty spaces …

emptyspaces.jpg

This is the space where the round table sat. The table we bought when there was a we. It was purchased for a different house. For poker games with the (big) boys and craft projects with the children we might one day have. It moved to a smaller house over three years ago. The dinner table for mother and child. The hub for many an art and craft, which deepened the warm patina. Yet, it was always a little too big. And now it has moved. To the new house of the man who used to be the other half of we. With a few extra dings and a bit of Sharpie pen, the table now begins a new life where I expect many a poker game will be played.

We have lived with the empty space for a month. I had visions of the perfect antique table. If I had more patience, I probably would have found it eventually. But without a table to gather around, meal time was too quiet, hard to savor. So I went with K’s favorite pick from the Pottery Barn catalog. Tonight, we will feast and talk long around our new beachy table that fills the emptiness.

beachy-table.jpg

One Response to “Empty spaces”

  1. Sage Says:

    I am completely goose bumped. Thank you for sharing this journey with us.

Leave a Reply

