Doorways

doorways.jpg

I stumbled across this old building while roaming Point Reyes Station last weekend and saw not a tear down but a reinvention. A new life, new purpose emerging from the crumbly bits. Life feels a lot like that lately. Maybe it’s Spring. Maybe it’s the desire, among so many to-dos and deadlines that I can barely see straight, to create things that have meaning. To find a way to balance the flow of corporate work that is financially rewarding with the creative work that is soul-satisfying.

As I search, I seek inspiration, snatching precious minutes from the day to wander blogland. I am always rewarded with a visual, an idea or a quote that feeds my spirit, giving me renewed purpose. Favorites this week:

:: shim + sons from whom I’ve adopted the :: (or googlies as Sage calls them) and excitedly took part in the grand opening of The Shoppe.

:: 3191 is my Rx for calm. I go there daily for visual inspiration. This week, May 3 was my favorite.

:: Ali Edwards has been talking a lot about balance on her blog. Taking a life temperature makes so much sense to me.

:: Sage on the Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Computer captures reinvention in gorgeous, mouth-filling language, and Sage herself who always saves my bacon when my words threaten to unravel on the page.

:: And that Martha. In blog-hopping, I found out that Martha has a new art + craft line. Of course she does! It’s really very clever merchandising … you can buy at Michael’s or online (more selection). And the design is oh-so-appealing.

As Monday morning draws near, I am again optimistic that I can keep many balls in the air, remain gracious when clients are dancing on my last nerve, and pay attention to the little, beautiful moments that make up daily life.

2 Responses to “Doorways”

  1. The Writer Mama Says:

    Oh, that Martha! That’s just what I said.

    I blew into Michael’s the other night to get the pretty yarn for Samantha’s toy tags and saw her crafts line. “Ooooooo,” I said, but I didn’t have time to stop.

    I saw it again today in the Michael’s Sunday paper flyer.

    Looks like fun stuff!

    Happy last weekend moments!

  2. Sage Says:

    What a photo! And what a beautiful observation about the lens you bring to the crumbling bits! I’m honored to be a part of the reinvention conversation!

Leave a Reply

