Table runners & academic detritus

Giving a big party on Sunday for my dearest friend and her finance and decided the buffet table needed a runner that brought in a bit of blue to complement the white + red of the party:

img_2649.jpg

I pieced together several dishtowels that I found last week. Since the towels are not exactly the same size, the overall effect is a bit wonky but will be fine with serving dishes atop it. And then I decided to make two more to run between the three 8-foot dining tables I’m renting so they look more like one long table. The guest of honor asked me if that’s what table runners are for β€” to join tables together. And you know, I realized I have no idea what table runners are for. Do you?

In somewhat related news, I’ve been tending to the garden. Well just a bit … I don’t want to ruin the “shabby garden” look I’ve been cultivating, but I decided the piles of leaves could go (LOL!). And mixed in with the leaves were bits and pieces of discarded papers that have floated over from the high school. Here was the best find:

img_2644.jpg

Clearly, someone had issues with Grapes of Wrath. I think I’ll turn these pages into a collage.

2 Responses to “Table runners & academic detritus”

  1. Sage Says:

    I can’t wait to experience the “Grapes of Wrath” found poem!!

  2. Felicia Says:

    very pretty tablerunner πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

