Now that’s cute

I am rather fond of smiley faces. After all, I was around when the big smiley debuted in the 70s and would have traded my Partridge Family lunch box in a second for the white lunch bags emblazoned so cheerfully. Disposable lunch bags didn’t fly with parents both eco- and budget-conscious, so I coveted from afar.

Well, imagine my delight when I found this while zooming around the grocery store:

img_2681.jpg

I know! Smiley faces on sandwich bags. Two designs. Tucked in a well-packaged, Japanese-esqe box. My heart beat a little faster. The price per bag gave me pause and I really do try to limit my use of plastic. But as you can see, the little smileys spun their magic, and I am now the proud owner of a special box of baggies. They will be carefully rationed and used as special surprises in the school lunch. Oh, and I think they’ll play a factor in favor bags for K’s next birthday. And really, when you think of it that way, they are quite economical. 🙂

One Response to “Now that’s cute”

  1. The Writer Mama Says:

    Great tip!

    I’ve noticed printed bags recently at Target. Maybe they are test marketing the idea?

    Perhaps a list article…ways to make your child smile when she opens her lunch bag.

Leave a Reply

