A room with a view

img_2961.jpg

Yup, that’s the view outside my home office window. It comes complete with the bone-jarring sounds of jackhammers and big-toothed machines that crunch the pavement after it’s been broken into pieces. From time-to-time, the windows rattle and house trembles.

The jackhammers started on Friday after a massive truck that sounded like it had a bad case of gas unloaded yards of chain-link fencing. On Saturday, a “gosh we’re sorry for the inconvenience” letter arrived with the news that the high school’s side parking lot would be undergoing modernization from August through October. Really? I hadn’t heard that there was new technology in parking lots but what do I know?

My friend Sage says, “when life gives you lemons, put them in your bra.” In my case, there’s no room for lemons but I’ll go for the spirit of the sentiment. The noise outside gives me a chance to practice focus. The clinking and clanking of the temporary chain-link fence being pulled apart by overly eager workers at 6:45 a.m. means K and I won’t be rushing to get to school on time. Here’s to modernization!

2 Responses to “A room with a view”

  1. 3:24 p.m. « Says:

    […] and the silence is palpable. The demolition across the street is done for another day. Yesterday, it was so bad that I yelled, “shut […]

  2. Sue Miller Says:

    Pam, I love it! Your Mom sent me the address and I have only read a few days, but such a shining example of YOU! I can hear the enthusiasm and love of life that is you, and it warms my heart. I look forward to following it daily! It will take me awhile to catch up with all the entries 🙂

    Hugs, Sue

Leave a Reply

