1st week of 1st grade wrap-up

The 1st week of 1st grade has been a resounding success. Someone couldn’t wait to get to school …

1st-grader.jpg

K’s teacher is lovely. The fact that I’m old enough to be her mother (not a young teenage mother either) is not bothering me a bit. No, not at all. I’m not fixated on it. I don’t start every answer to, “So how is K’s teacher?” by talking about how I could be her mom. Nope, not me.

We had back to school night on the second day of school. Very early due to the big fundraiser that happens mid-October … gotta get those parents to volunteer while their heads are still swimming with first week chaos. I made it through the night without volunteering for more than I can handle. This is usually me:

napkin.jpg

And it’s not even the caffeine. Just how I was made. After being room parent last year while juggling a full work schedule and everything else, I’ve learned to volunteer for just what I can handle. A lot, just not suffocatingly a lot. Still, I did have to sit on my hands and give J the pen because I was so tempted. I do like to be the boss of everything.

The week ended in soaring temperatures and reading magic. It just took a week of 1st grade to get K reading. She resisted last year … even though her spelling and writing skills said she could do it. I suspect it was the first skill that didn’t come especially easy to her. Seems the trick was the start of 1st grade to get the competitive spirit going (we don’t know where she gets that from!), and she’s been working her way through pages and pages of Dick and Jane.

K remains a strong, assertive girl who doesn’t hesitate to raise her hand or join in games with the boys. It is a marked contrast to some of the girls her age who seem, almost, to be withdrawing. I came across an Alice Walker poem this week that expresses what I hope is always true for K.

Be Nobody’s Darling 

Be nobody’s darling;

Be an outcast.

Take the contradictions

Of your life

And wrap around

You like a shawl,

To parry stones

To keep you warm.

Watch the people succumb

To madness

With ample cheer;

Let them look askance at you

And you askance reply.

Be an outcast;

Be pleased to walk alone

(Uncool)

or line the crowded

river beds

with other impetuous

Fools.

Make a merry gathering

On the bank

Where thousands perished

For brave hurt words

They said.

Be nobody’s darling;

Be an outcast

Qualified to live

Among your dead …

2 Responses to “1st week of 1st grade wrap-up”

  1. Sage Says:

    Amen! This reminded me of the inheritance of wisdom that K will receive when she turns 16…from those who loved her even before she was born! Welcome to the world of letters, dear KK!

  2. Megan Says:

    This post made me laugh and sniffle! Lovely. Thanks. 🙂

Leave a Reply

