Because it’s about time

I posted! On any given day, there’s usually a blog post or two floating around in my head. You wouldn’t know that of course because, as evidenced by the 1-week time lapse, I didn’t actually make it to the keyboard. Well, yes of course I was at the keyboard for hours … client work and all. But the fabulous things I was going to observe, tell you or just laugh about never came out.

Well here’s to another week and a big dose of GO power. To start us off, look at this super cool present I got yesterday …

go.jpg

OMG! It’s a GO package courtesy of my friend Lauri who wields an X-acto knife with amazing prowess. You should see her GO!

Speaking of GO, I’ve been giving a go, go, get gone kick to unwanted catalogs. I tried calling that “opt out” number that is supposed to put an end to junk mail but the catalogs continued to pour in. I have a sneaking suspicion that this formula is in play: amount of online shopping is directly proportional to number of catalogs received. Which is why I find bizarre catalogs like Viva Terra and Free People in my mailbox. No thanks.

So now everyday I GO right over to Catalog Choice and opt out. Catalog Choice is a sponsored project of the Ecology Center with a bold mission:

The mission of Catalog Choice is to reduce the number of repeat and unsolicited catalog mailings, and to promote the adoption of sustainable industry best practices

Using the site is free, and super easy. Just type in the catalog name, click the decline button and enter the customer number (if there is one on the back of the catalog). The site keeps track of your preferences via a secure user name and password that you create. I cannot tell you how satisfying it is to grab those magazines, opt-out and then dump them in the recycling box as I add to the over 4 million catalogs consumers have already opted not to receive.

I like reducing the amount of matter in the world, so I can focus on the stuff that does matter.

catalog-post.jpg

It’s a slow-GO day over here with a child home from school with what we hope is a short-lived flu. All righty then, off I go to see how much go I can get done!

Leave a Reply

