Double number, divisible by 2

feb12.jpg

How perfect is this card? It delights me as I celebrate another birthday. So too do all the calls, IMs, notes and packages that I’ve been so lucky to receive. I’m a big fan of birthdays. Big. Fan.

When I was little, I loved that I shared my birthday with Abraham Lincoln. Back in the day, that meant a school holiday, which I co-opted to be my own personal holiday. Valentine’s Day became part of the celebration too, so I was never sad if I didn’t have a sweetheart. All the hearts and flowers were just a part of my birthday week. Oh yes, a week. I am a firm believer that one day is not sufficient to celebrate birthdays. The longer the celebration can stretch out, the better.

Not only do I love my birthday, I’m prone to broadcasting it. When I was in college, I used to remind my friends how many shopping days were left. Kinda surprising they didn’t just ignore the day.

And even though I’m of an age where most people ignore their birthday, I’m still talking about it. For the past few days, I found a way to mention that I’m having an “old lady” birthday in nearly every meeting I attend. Hard to break habits cultivated over decades.

Yes, the number makes me a cringe a little but I wouldn’t trade places with a younger me. I like that I get more sparkly as I get more wrinkles and gray hair. That I have enough life experience to know how not to sweat the small stuff (most of the time). That risks are worth taking. That challenging times ultimately give way to smooth sailing. That you can never be too generous. And that it’s never too late to try something new.

That’s what I know at the start of this double number, divisible by 2 year. What more will I know this time next year? I can’t wait to find out.

3 Responses to “Double number, divisible by 2”

  1. Sage Says:

    I’m waving my PK Sparkly flag! Hallelujah, and happy double-number, divisible-by-2 year to you, Mistress of Sparkles!

  2. Martha Says:

    I liked what you have written about “getting older.” Good things to remember as we climb into those higher-digit birthdays.

  3. kimmie Says:

    Hey, you didn’t tell me it was your birthday on Tuesday! What great timing then when I sent the small package to you. : ) Happy Birthday!

Leave a Reply

