Fountain drink

Of late I have been enjoying the occasional fountain drink. Not soda in a can or poured into a glass at home, but a mix of syrup + CO2 from a spigot cascaded over a cup full of ice. The best place I’ve found to get the fountain drink is at the 7-11 because it’s the place where I’m not tempted by burgers and fries. Plus, the way they mix the syrup with carbonation results in the flavor of a coke slurpee in liquid form.

The cup pictured above is the 2nd smallest choice. There are three larger options, the largest of which is the size of a bucket. (And that begs a much bigger story about American food consumption but I won’t go there right now). The fascinating thing about going to the 7-11 is that you run into the most interesting crowd. The sales guy who wears his pants too high, stopping for a cheap lunch on the road. The prematurely old smokers counting change for another pack of cigarettes. The guy with baggy pants and basketball buying the giant can of Bud. And the clusters of men smoking by the entrance.

It’s a lot to go through but the fountain drink is worth it. My friend Martha understands. She once tried to find out the flavor of the cookie part under the frosting of a black and white cookie. She asked the man at the bakery counter several times, in several different ways. He finally gave up, telling her in his distinctive accent, “I cannot explain the black and white cookie to you.” That’s almost as funny as the story her boyfriend tells of the man at Burger King who, after getting his order, said, “Where are my samples?” The cashier and then the manager tried to explain that BK doesn’t give out samples but the man just kept asking, “Where are my samples?”

So what do we take from all this? Just this: fountain drinks come complete with counter-culture experience and a good response to any difficult question is either: “I can’t explain the [insert topic] to you” or “Where are my samples.” Both are guaranteed to divert attention.

Edited to add: The guy at BK actually said, “Chronologically speaking, I should have my samples.” This gives us that much more material to work with in diverting attention!

And with that my friends, happy weekend!

3 Responses to “Fountain drink”

  1. Sage Says:

    Aha! I didn’t know that the interpersonal adventure was a critical part of the fountain drink experience! I’m going to have to visit the 7-11 down my street and ask everyone in there to help me understand the black and white cookie!

  2. zulfiqar ahmad Says:

    i am tryiny to look cup &paper cup price

  3. Keeley Hazell Says:

    Hey guys. I can’t seem to access this page when I’m using the web browser SEWER NECROPEDOSADOMASO version 99… I highly suspect it being problem coming from either your WordPress theme or maybe your plugins https://mmorpggaminghd.wordpress.com/2016/06/01/the-tauren-rogue-new-class-race-for-wow-legion/

Leave a Reply

