101

We’re having a heat wave, a tropical heat wave. Temperature’s rising, it isn’t surprising, the way that she can can-can …

Whenever it’s really hot, that tune from South Pacific (I think) runs through my head and I see my mom dancing around the house singing it. Record-breaking heat has hit the Bay Area … 101 yesterday in my little town. Not even the shade provided respite.

I don’t really like hot. I melt easily. They say people who were born in San Francisco like I was can’t tolerate high heat because fog flows through their veins. Little bit of trivia for you.

There’s no air conditioning in this little cottage so we make do with old-fashioned fans and endless glasses of ice water. Meanwhile, despite the heat, the garden continues to produce surprise after surprise. Look who popped out this morning …

Happy weekend!

Leave a Reply

