Post in 2 parts

Part 1: Where She Attempts to Reason Away the 19-day Lag Between Posts

Um. Ahem. Cough. Well yes, 19 days. 20 if you don’t count the postlett below. What can I say. The end of the school year spiral plus parties plus tons of work = no blogging. The ideas just go, poof, out of my head. Truth be told, no ideas really land in there when I’m juggling.

That’s the tricky part about blogging. You love to do it and people start to expect it but when you’ve got nothing, you’ve got nothing.

But now, now it’s summer and we have one solid week of camp plus numerous deadlines behind us.

And while there’s still a lot of hay to make while the sun shines, the pace is slowing. I have one party complete and one in nearly-complete planning stages. I’m 6 weekdays into not having to pack snacks or lunches. I’m about ready to master the sewing machine. I’m kicking the overcrowded closets and basement in the butt.

So lift your glass with me in cheer for more regular musings on the various and sundry.

Part 2: What’s for Dinner

OK. Now that all that is out of the way and with the blog dust banished to far corners, let’s talk about dinner. I’ve said before (or at least I think I have although who really knows since my memory isn’t quite as sharp as a tack as it was 20 years ago) that weekend menu planning + grocery shopping = happy me. After doing both on Sunday, it’s lunches and dinners made easy and healthy every day.

Here’s one you just have to try. It’s a tomato, corn and avocado salad plucked from page 126 of the July/August issue of Martha’s “Everyday Food.” I figure she published it so I can share it with you and save you the link to another website. Actually, I tweaked the amounts a bit as follows:

2 ears corn, husk and silk removed

2 pints grape tomatoes (I had the big carton from Trader Joes and just added until I had a pleasing amount)

1 avocado, halved, pitted, peeled and diced (gotta laugh about the “peeled and pitted” part … wouldn’t anyone really put either in a dish they were going to eat?)

2 scallions, thinly sliced (add this even if you’re not a big onion fan as it brings out the other flavors)

2 tbls fresh lime juice

1 tbls vegetable oil

coarse salt and pepper

Stand the corn in a bowl and use a knife to scrape off the kernels. Throw in the rest of the veggies. Whisk the lime juice, oil, salt and pepper in a bowl; pour over salad. Toss gently. Devour.

This is fast and delicious. Plus, it holds up well overnight. The lime juice keeps the avocado green. Pair it with some chicken-apple sausage or other grilled item and you’ve got mouthfuls of happiness. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

