Glimmer

My favorite moment …

dec4

… in a day that otherwise has been too heavy. One where my favorite girl is having a bit of a hard time at school. When tears fill her big brown eyes too easily. The day I get the question about Santa. My own, “yes, Virgina there is a Santa Claus” moment where the spirit and magic of giving and receiving does nothing to lessen the stark sadness that the gentle truth brings. I feel powerless, fiercely wishing I could rewind time, to have the question remain unasked, to protect my child from hurt … today and always.

These are the days, the black cloud days, where it’s easy to overlook the little things. The calm moments of wrapping advent treats. Finding the perfect little tree. Homemade cookies. I record to remember.

Leave a Reply

