Forgotten eggs

eggs

I wrote a note to remember to hard-boil eggs to decorate. I compared two sets of instructions for the “perfect” results. I put eggs in the pot, cold water over the eggs. I turned on the stove. I checked them once or twice as they neared a boil. Then I forgot them. For 15 minutes give or take. I didn’t actually remember them until I went back to the kitchen for water and had a moment of shock. There were the eggs jumping around at full boil. For 15 minutes. Or maybe longer. I wouldn’t know. I forgot.

I wonder if I made rubber? I wonder where my sharp-as-a-tack memory went. I wonder what these lapses foreshadow. After all, I’m not that old. Sigh.

2 Responses to “Forgotten eggs”

  1. Kristy Says:

    Oh my gosh! We have twin brains! I exploded 6 eggs on thursday. Left them on the stove…water evaporated and norm woke up to exploding eggs.

  2. Donna Says:

    Done this so many times! Be glad there was still water in the pan, it’s a bad, bad smell!
    Had to get a no-option whistling tea kettle, I melted the plastic hinge part right off the old one. How long does that take? Couldn’t tell you, but I got a lot of stuff done while it was happening!

Leave a Reply

